## MINUTES: AGM of the Geography Teachers' Association of NSW Council 2018

**DATE: Monday 22 Oct** 

VENUE: PTC 67/73 St Hilliers Rd, Auburn NSW 2141

Start: 4pm

Item	Leader	Detail	Action
Present		L Chaffer, P Alger, J Lewis, A Lucas, M Pluss, S McLean, C Donnelly, M Da Roza, G Kleeman, D Collins, P Batten, K Hopkins, S Caldis, J Petts, D Latimer, K Bowden	
Apologies		L Swanson, A Harrison, M Brown, M Carroll	
Conflict of interest		Nil	
Minutes of previous AGM (2017)  - Accepted - Seconded - carried		Circulated That the minutes are an accurate reflection of the meeting Moved: Sharon McLean Seconder: Paul Alger Carried	
Business arising from previous meeting		Co-opted member appointments since last AGM: Paul Batten, Matt Carroll, John Petts Co-opted members to remain	
		Moving to become a co-opted member for 2019:	

		Milton Brown	
		Mel Rowe has moved to Queensland and is no longer part of Council or GTANSW membership	
President's report	Lorraine Chaffer	Report tabled and circulated via email and will appear in Issue 4 of Geography Bulletin	
		GTANSW had a successful year providing professional support for teachers across NSW and ACT. All activities are open to members are non-members 375 – 431 membership as of 1 October 2018. Most are corporate GTANSW Council had 18 elected Councillors and 5 coopted members.  Official thanks to Mel Rowe for her contribution to Council over the last 12 months GTANSW Council meetings are in blended form. Administrative activities are outsourced to PTCNSW	
		2018 Program Expanded TPL opportunities made possible through team work	
		Thank you to Sharon McLean for facilitating online meeting capacity Thank you to Milton Brown, John Lewis and Susan Caldis for minute taking Thank you to Grant Kleeman for financial reports	

Thank you to PTC Administration staff especially Julie Pham, Jill Sillar Thank you to Rob Berry for managing the GTANSW website 2-day Annual Conference attended by over 220 teachers each day, 30 exhibitors, Focus was on pedagogy, literacy and skills. Sponsorship enabled remote and regional teachers to attend 2 regional conferences and 6 webinars. Thank you to Sharon McLean for coordination of these vents 2 skills workshop. Thank you to Grant Kleeman for facilitating these events to support teachers new to teaching Geography **HSC Conference** HSC Exam preparation lectures. Thank you to Catherine Donnelly and team who presented and took on Master of Ceremonies role Arthur Phillip Awards and ceremony. Thank you to Grace Larobina for coordinating GTANSW representation occurred throughout the year – Thank you to Louise Swanson, Lorraine Chaffer, Susan, Alex, Cath, David Latimer

GTANSW maintains a close relationship with GSNSW> Thank you to Martin Pluss and Susan Caldis for maintaining these links Recent submissions provided to NESA for curriculum directions Geography Bulletin remains a key publication ad resources of GTANSW. Thanks to Lorraine as editor Primary Geography Alive is cost and password free resource. Thanks to Grant Social media is maintained by GTANSW All programs above will continue in to 2019 with a focus on twilight sessions, online New initiatives for 2019 Assessment packages across Years 7 – 10 with a stimulus booklet, marking guidelines, activities, Online professional learning developed as part of a PTCNSW initiative Thank you to Council for support and energy and hard work throughout the year.

		The Council would like to extend a vote of thanks to Lorraine for her leadership and vision for the Association.  Motion: That the Annual Report be accepted Moved: L Chaffer Seconded: M Pluss Carried
Presentation of Annual Financial Statement	Grant Kleeman	Report tabled and circulated via email  Last time this auditor will do GTANSW books.  Loss of \$1299, explained by a change in accounting auditing requirements  Income  Membership down during accounting period (end of June)  Sponsorship increased Attendance at events increased Workshops and lectures increased CAL payments increased Sales of textbooks increased \$315, 056 (increase of \$110,000) 2017-2018 Income  Expenses

Auditing stable Book-keeping stable Capitation to AGTA decreased Conferences decreased Graphic design increased Meeting stable Printing and stationery decreased Postage increased Rent stable Secretariat increased Travel and accommodation decreased Website stable \$316, 355 total expense See the Balance Sheet circulated for precise figures Inventory listing of \$7302 is a mistake as they are AGTA products Mai Mai loads up payments, Grant Kleeman approves them and there should be two office-bearers to sign off. Typically this is the President. AS of end Sept 2018, GTANSW surplus is over \$21000 and the balance is \$318,000. Good financial position. Motion: That the financial report be accepted Moved: Grant Kleeman Accepted: Lorraine Chaffer

Carried	
Constitutional Change Amendment	
Motion: That section 10.12 and 12.4 relating to Council membership be amended for consistency and the position of Honorary Secretary be removed.  The Constitution will read	
Section 10.2 The Officers of the Council of the Association shall consist of  1. The President 2. Four Vice Presidents 3. One Minutes Secretary 4. One Honorary Treasurer 5. The Editor 6. 15 General Councillors All of these officers shall be elected at the AGM of the members	
Section 12.4  At its penultimate meeting or at least twenty-one (21) days before the date fixed for the Annual General Meeting:  1. The Council shall prepare a list of nominations for the following offices:  - President of the Association	

		- Four Vice Presidents (of which 1 Vice	
		President position is for the Immediate Past	
		President)	
		<ul> <li>Fifteen general councillors from which</li> </ul>	
		will draw the positions of Honorary Treasurer,	
		Minute Secretary and The Editor	
		Moved: Lorraine Chaffer	
		Seconded: David Latimer	
		Carried	
Election of Officers	Lorraine	All nominations were accepted and welcomed for	
		2018 – 2019	
		Adrian Harrison (Councillor)	
		Alexandra Pentz (Councillor)	
		Alexandria Lucas (Councillor)	
		Catherine Donnelly (Councillor)	
		David Latimer (Councillor)	
		Drew Collins (Councillor)	
		Grace Larobina (Councillor)	
		Grant Kleeman (Vice President, Treasurer)	
		John Lewis (Councillor)	
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
		Keith Hopkins (Councillor)	
		Lorraine Chaffer (President)	
		Louise Swanson (Vice President)	
		Martin Pluss (Councillor)	
		Michael da Roza (Councillor)	
		Paul Alger (Councillor)	
	1	Sharon McLean (Vice President)	

Susan Caldis (Vice President)	
Three will remain as co-opted members: John Petts, Matt Carroll, Paul Batten	
Louise Swanson to remain Public Officer. All positions are declared as filled	
Motion: That corporate fee go up to \$200; individual fees are maintained at \$90; concession fee will remain at \$40; a new membership category for pre-service teachers at no fee whilst using a current university email; primary fee to be \$40 Moved: Lorraine Chaffer Seconded: Paul Alger	
Carried	