REPORT

2020 Australian Geography Competition

The 2020 Australian Geography Competition was significantly affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. Schools were starting to close just as the Competition was scheduled to be held. To give schools the maximum opportunity to participate, the deadline to submit answer sheets was pushed forward from April to August. Answers received from September onwards are still being marked and certificates issued, but those students are ineligible for prizes.

Australia-wide, entries were received for 65,837 students from 699 schools. In NSW, it was 26,762 students from 252 schools and in the ACT 1,995 students from 15 schools.

Prizes

YEAR	PRIZE	NAME	SCHOOL
7	Equal first in NSW	Andrew Pye	Sydney Boys High School
/		Leo Zhuang	Sydney Boys High School
	Equal first in NSW	Lachlan Ballard	Sydney Grammar School
		Daniel Lloyd Hurwitz	Sydney Grammar School
8		Daniel Nguyen	Sydney Boys High School
		Eric Scholten	Sydney Boys High School
		Warren Song	James Ruse Agricultural High School
9	Equal first in Australia	Alex Koopejcharoen	Baulkham Hills High School
		Sophie Lim	Abbotsleigh
		Jimmy Nicholas	Shore School
		Liam Sewell	Shore School
10	Equal first in Australia	Eric Huang	Baulkham Hills High School
		Louis McKay	Northern Beaches Secondary College – Manly Campus
		Alex Murray	Shore School
11	First in Australia	Kevin Yuan	Sydney Grammar School
12	First in Australia	Zoe Ransevycz	Burwood Girls High School
School	First in Australia		Sydney Grammar School

Prizes were awarded in NSW as follows:

REPORT

ACT is part of the Combined Territories group is the calculation of prizes. This also includes students from: Christmas Island, Cocos Keeling Islands, Norfolk Island and Northern Territory. Prizes were awarded in the ACT as follows:

YEAR	PRIZE	NAME	SCHOOL
7	First in Combined Territories	Ben Watson	Campbell High School
		Zara Mason	Canberra Girls Grammar Senior School
8	Equal first in Combined Territories	Rosemary Norton	Canberra Girls Grammar Senior School
		Dev Shah	Alfred Deakin High School
9	First in Combined Territories	Victoria Spark	Canberra Grammar School
10	First in Combined Territories	Alex Ricks	Canberra Grammar School
11	First in Combined Territories	Angus Whitford	Canberra Grammar School
12	First in Combined Territories	India Kazakoff	Canberra Grammar School
School	First in Combined Territories		Canberra Grammar School

High-performing schools

These NSW and ACT schools achieved outstanding results, coming within the top 10 in Australia. To be eligible for this category schools must enter students in each of Years 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12.

POSITION IN AUSTRALIA	SCHOOL	
1st	Sydney Grammar School	
2nd	Sydney Boys High School	
3rd	Knox Grammar School	
4th	Canberra Grammar School	
7th	Northern Beaches Secondary College – Balgowlah Boys	
8th	St Joseph's College – Hunter's Hill	
9th	Kinross Wolaroi School	
10th	Rosebank College	

Selection process for 2021 iGeo



The fieldwork-based Geography's Big Week Out is the usual method to select students to represent Australia at the International Geography Olympiad (iGeo). In 2020 this was to have been hosted by the Geographical Association of WA. However, it has had to be cancelled due to COVID-19. Instead, the students will be selected via an assessment task. The first part of this assessment will be a 2-hour written test, administered at the students' schools. For students who score highly on this test, the second part of the assessment will be conducted individually via Zoom.

Circumstances allowing, the plan is that the four students selected for the 2021 team will attend a four-day training exercise in Brisbane during the April school holidays in preparation for the iGeo. It may be that the 2021 iGeo will be cancelled, as has the 2020 iGeo. However, if the health situation and travel restrictions allow, the Competition Committee would like to be ready to send a team. The advice of the Australian governments on gatherings and travel will be strictly adhered to.

REPORT

These Year 11 students in NSW will be taking part in the selection process for the team to represent Australia at the 2021 iGeo in Istanbul, Turkey.

STUDENT	SCHOOL
Name withheld	
William Martin	St Joseph's College – Hunter's Hill
Gemma Snyman	Roseville College
Name withheld	

And in the ACT:

STUDENT	SCHOOL	
Name withheld		
Angus Whitford	Canberra Grammar School	



2021 Competition

Next year's Competition will be held in schools between **18 and 31 March 2021**.

Here's hoping 2021 will be a more normal year for schools and not just "COVID-normal". We look forward to the participation of many schools that had to opt out this year.

For more information, please contact:

- Rachel Honey, Competition Coordinator
- W. www.geographycompetition.org.au
- E. AGCcoordinator@rgsq.org.au
- T. 07 3330 6907

Learn more about The Australian Geography Competition on the website

