# 2023 GTANSW & ACT COUNCIL



# From the President

# Katerina Stojanovski

Dear Colleagues,

On Monday 31st October 2022, the GTA NSW & ACT held its Annual General Meeting. At the meeting, the Council for 2022–2023 were elected.

I was delighted to be elected President and I am looking forward to the opportunity to lead Council in 2023 as we work together to advocate for geography education at a state and national level.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the 2022–2023 Council for their commitment in volunteering their time to support Geography teachers next year. It is through their commitment that Council can source, develop geography professional learning and teaching resources.

# Areas of focus will be to:

- Support NSW geography teachers including out-offield, early career, teachers new to geography and experienced geography teachers.
- support the recommendations of the Decadal Plan in our role as a state association implementing the national agenda e.g.
  - To better prepare out-of-field geography teachers
  - Geography to be recognised as a partial STEM subject
  - GTANSW&ACT to connect in with AGTA, IAG and GSNSW
  - Increased collaboration between schools and university Geographers

Council plans to meet for a planning day in December – January to set the agenda for 2023.

Information about events to be held in 2023 will be communicated in the new year. We are anticipating the release of the new Stage 6 Geography syllabus and draft 7–10 Geography syllabus and GTA will prepare to support teachers through these changes when they occur.

The 2021–2022 Annual Report can be found at the end of this issue. A full version of the Annual Report can also be found on the GTA website under the *About Us* tab.

Thank you for your continued interest in and support of the work of GTANSW & ACT. We look forward to supporting you in 2023.

Kind Regards Katerina Stojanovski President GTA NSW & ACT

# GTA NSW & ACT COUNCIL FOR 2023

# **President**

Katerina Stojanovski

## **Vice Presidents**

Dr Paul Batten
Dr Susan Caldis
Lorraine Chaffer
Rebecca Sutcliffe

# **Honorary Treasurer**

Dr Grant Kleeman

# **Minutes Secretary**

Rebecca Sutcliffe

## **Editor**

Lorraine Chaffer

# **Councillor & ACT Representative**

Michael Da Roza

## **Councillors**

Kieran Bonin
Stephanie Boden
Drew Collins
James Harte
Christopher Jenkins
John Lewis
Alexandra Pentz
Martin Pluss

# **Co-opted Councillors**

Amy Freshwater Ben Terrell

# **Appointed Public Officer**

Dr Grant Kleeman