

Katerina Stojanovsk

Editorial

Welcome to Bulletin 4, the final edition of the GTA NSW & ACT *Geography Bulletin* for 2023.

The focus for this year has been organising professional learning and resources to prepare Stage 6 Geography teachers to implement the new course in 2024. The much-anticipated Year 11 case studies textbooks should be ready early in the new year. Books will be sold through the GTA NSW & ACT online shop.

This edition has a mix of articles including GTA's response to the "2023 Have your say" consultation for Geography Years 7–10 and GTA's annual report for 2023. The feature article "A continental transect – Canada from east to west" explores the diversity of Canada across this region. Thank you to Visual Capitalist for granting permission to republish the article – "The Anthropocene: A New Epoch in the Earth's History" written by Mark Belan. This article is relevant for Stage 6 Geography teachers to incorporate in their lessons.

I would like to extend my appreciation to the following authors who contributed material for Bulletin 4.

- Response from the Geography Teachers Association of NSW & ACT to the "2023
 Have your say" consultation for Geography Years 7–10
 Dr Susan Caldis
- Appendices to support the GTA NSW & ACT Response to the "2023 Have your say" consultation for Geography Years 7–10
 Dr Susan Caldis
- A continental transect Canada from east to west Dr Grant Kleeman
- 2023 Geography's Big Week Out
 James Harte, Michael Da Roza and Alex Pentz
- Celebrating Geography Excellence Carol Pogson

On Wednesday 25 October 2023, the GTANSW & ACT held its Annual General Meeting. At the meeting, the Council for 2023–2024 were elected. Council will meet for a planning day in December–January to set the agenda for 2024. Information about events to be held in 2024 will be communicated in the new year.

GTA NSW & ACT COUNCIL FOR 2023-2024

President

Katerina Stojanovski

Vice Presidents

Dr Susan Caldis (Immediate Past)

Lorraine Chaffer

Rebecca Sutcliffe

Honorary Treasurer

Dr Grant Kleeman

Minutes Secretary

Rebecca Sutcliffe

Public Officer

Dr Grant Kleeman

Councillors

Stephanie Boden

Kieran Bonin

Drew Collins

Michael Da Roza, ACT representative

James Harte

Christopher Jenkins

John Lewis

Alexandra Pentz

Martin Pluss

Co-opted member

Ben Terrell